Will Power takes checkered flag in 2018 Indianapolis 500

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. — In the end, Will Power had the speed.

He won the 102nd Running of the Indianapolis 500, finding just enough at the end to take the checkered flag. A late caution flag involving Tony Kanaan set the stage for Power’s winning run.

He held off Ed Carpenter to become the first driver to sweep the IndyCar Grand Prix and the Indy 500 in the same year. Power sat in fourth position with six laps left but made his way up the field and took advantage when race leaders Stefan Wilson and Jack Harvey pulled into the pits. Power is the first Australian driver to win the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” It’s the 17th Indy 500 win for Team Penske.

Carpenter, the pole-sitter who placed second, had his best Indy 500th finish in 15 races. He dominated the early parts of the race but couldn’t find enough speed to catch Power in the end.

Scott Dixon, the 2008 Indy 500 winner, finished third. Alexander Rossi, who won the 100th Indy 500 in 2016, made his way up from 32nd to fourth. Ryan Hunter-Reay, the 2014 Indy 500 winner, rounded out the top five.

Notable incidents during the race included a crash involving James Davison and Takuma Sato–the 2017 Indy 500 winner–that ended their days. Danica Patrick spun out and hit the wall in what was billed as her final race.

Ed Jones hit the wall and ended up going to IU Health Methodist Hospital after complaining of head and neck pain. Kyle Kaiser experienced mechanical problems and had to drop out of the race.

Sebastien Bourdais crashed with 61 laps to go. He had briefly taken the lead during the race. Other crashes took out three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves and Sage Karam.

The unofficial final standings:

  1. Will Power
  2. Ed Carpenter
  3. Scott Dixon
  4. Alexander Rossi
  5. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  6. Simon Pagenaud
  7. Carlos Munoz
  8. Josef Newgarden
  9. Robert Wickens
  10. Graham Rahal
  11. JR Hildebrand
  12. Marco Andretti
  13. Matheus Leist
  14. Gabby Chaves
  15. Stefan Wilson
  16. Jack Harvey
  17. Oriol Servia
  18. Charlie Kimball
  19. Z. Claman De Melo
  20. Spencer Pigot
  21. Conor Daly
  22. Max Chilton
  23. Zach Veach
  24. Jay Howard
  25. Tony Kanaan
  26. Saga Karam
  27. Helio Castroneves
  28. Sebastien Bourdais
  29. Kyle Kaiser
  30. Danica Patrick
  31. Ed Jones
  32. Takuma Sato
  33. James Davison

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

NBA Stats

Most Popular

Latest News

More News