PRIMARY RESULTS: Polls closed for Tuesday’s primary election; Indy mayoral race in focus


File photo.

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (May 5, 2015) – The polls closed Tuesday at 6 p.m. for municipal primary elections.

Click here to see primary election results

Many political observers are closely watching the Indianapolis mayoral race. Joe Hogsett voted Tuesday morning with his wife. He’s been campaigning for eight months and will continue to ask voters for their support on what’s typically a low voter turnout day.

The Democrat and former U.S. attorney has the support of his party. Restauranteur Chuck Brewer, running on the Republican ticket, also voted Tuesday morning. The two candidates are the only ones to raise more than $250,000 in the Indianapolis mayoral race.

Brewer is up against Jocelyn-Tandy Adande, Terry Michael, Darrell Morris and Larry Shouse while Hogsett is running against Larry Vaughn for the nomination.

Mayor Greg Ballard will not seek a third term.

Also in the spotlight: City-County Council races in Marion County. The council will have a new look following this year’s election after a state law eliminated at-large council members. Council districts were also redrawn.

While Democrats try to hold onto their majority on the council, councilors Angela Mansfield and Leroy Robinson will face each other in the primary. There are only three other council districts with a contested primary.

Key races include primaries for mayoral races in Indianapolis, Carmel, Westfield and Noblesville. School referendums are up for votes in several districts, including Beech Grove, Brownsburg and Frankfort, among others.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News