1.8 million gluten-free boxes of Cheerios recalled, may contain wheat

National & World

Photo courtesy of Cheerios.

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NEW YORK (Oct. 5, 2015) — General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios labeled “gluten free” that may contain wheat.

The company said in a press release Monday that issues offloading flour at its facility in Lodi, California may have caused the contamination, and affects four days worth of the factory’s production.

General Mills ordered boxes still at warehouses and on store shelves to be returned and is asking customers with wheat allergies to call the company at 1-800-775-8370.

Company spokesperson Kirsite Foster said, “[T]here have been reports of illness by consumers online. Two complaints of illness have been reported directly to General Mills related to the affected products.”

The company is in the process of converting five Cheerio varieties to gluten free, and this recall affects Honey Nut Cheerios and classic Cheerios in the yellow box. To determine if their cereal is affected, customers can check the “better if used by” codes of the affected boxes.

List of dates to look for:

Honey Nut Cheerios 12JUL2016LD 13JUL2016LD 14JUL2016LD 15JUL2016LD 16JUL2016LD 17JUL2016LD 18JUL2016LD 20JUL2016LD 21JUL2016LD 22JUL2016LD 23JUL2016LD 24JUL2016LD 25JUL2016LD Yellow Box Cheerios 14JUL2016LD 15JUL2016LD 16JUL2016LD 17JUL2016LD

Learn more here.

Trademark and Copyright 2020 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News