This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.- Beginning June 28, Marion County residents can legally set off fireworks.

However, there are several firework restrictions you should be aware of.

The State Fire Marshall says that local and state firework laws are often overlooked.

In Marion County, disregarding the area’s firework ordinance can result in a fine of up to $2,500.

Here’s a breakdown of when you can set off fireworks around the Fourth of July in Marion County:

  • June 28-July 3: 5 p.m. to two hours after sunset
  • July 4: 10 a.m. to midnight
  • July 5-9: 5 p.m. to two hours after sunset

State law also dictates you must be at least 18 to buy fireworks.

Someone 18 or older must be present when fireworks are set off.

If you’re lighting off fireworks on someone else’s property, you must have permission from the owner.

It’s also important to keep in mind that the person setting of the fireworks could be liable for damage on any property.

Finally, firework restrictions differ from one city to another so be sure to check your city’s ordinance to make sure you’re in compliance.