2016 IPL 500 Festival Parade celebrity lineup

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

4 Fast Facts

  • This is the 60th IPL 500 Festival Parade.
  • It will take place at noon on Saturday, May 28.
  • Riley kid Emma Stumpf will serve as the Grand Marshal.
  • Walk off the Earth will be the opening entertainment.

INDINAPOLIS, Ind. – The 60th IPL 500 Festival Parade will feature a diverse group of movie stars, TV stars, musicians, athletes, Hoosier heroes and racing legends.

The parade is scheduled for noon on Saturday, May 28.

Emma Stumpf: Stumpf, 14, will serve as the Grand Marshal of the parade, making her the youngest person to be awarded with this honor. At age 7, Emma was diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor and underwent 70 weeks of chemotherapy and six weeks of proton radiation to stabilize the tumor. Emma founded the program Emma’s Art Cart to provide art kits to children that are hospitalized and often confined to their beds. Emma’s Art Carts have provided more than 1,500 customized art kits.

Walk Off The Earth: Platinum-selling pop group, Walk Off The Earth will headline the parade’s opening entertainment. The five-person group established a significant global following with their cover of Gotye’s “Somebody I Used To Know.”

Roger Penske: IndyCar icon Roger Penske will drive the pace car for 100th running of the Indianapolis 500. 2016 also marks 50 years that Penske has been a race team owner. In addition to his duties as pace car driver, Penske serves as honorary co-chair of the 100th Running Host Committee.

Kevin Sorbo: Kevin Sorbo received international stardom as the lead role in Hercules, the Legendary Journeys, the most watched TV show in the world. Some of his many television credits include Two and a Half Men, Psych, Hawaii 5-0, and a recurring role in the final season of The OC.

Myles Turner: Selected by the Indiana Pacers with the 11th overall pick in the 2015 NBA Draft, Myles Turner is one of the NBA’s emerging stars. Turner was named Eastern Conference Rookie of the Month after averaging 13.4 points and 6.6 rebounds per game in February.

Nick Gehlfuss: Known to fans as Dr. Will Halstead on the hit NBC medical drama, Chicago Med, Gehlfuss has also appeared on Chicago P.D. as well as Chicago Fire.

David Anspaugh: Born in Decatur, Indiana, Emmy and Golden Globe winner David Anspaugh directed episodes of St. Elsewhere and Miami Vice before producing and directing the Academy Award-nominated movie, Hoosiers. Anspaugh also directed Rudy.

Drew Lynch: In 2015, comedian Drew Lynch captured the hearts of America, landing him first runner-up on season 10 of America’s Got Talent. Originally from Indianapolis, an unexpected softball accident left Drew with a severe stutter.

David Boudia: A native of Noblesville, Olympic diver David Boudia won a Gold and Bronze medal at the 2012 London Olympics. With 16 National titles and two Olympic medals, David Boudia is the top 10-meter platform diver in the U.S. and one of the best in the world. David will compete in the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio this summer.

Joe Reitz: Hoosier native Joe Reitz is a guard for the Indianapolis Colts. Signed by the Colts as a free agent in 2011, Reitz was the recipient of Indianapolis’ 2015 Ed Block Courage Award.

Richard Rawlings: The star of The Discovery Channel’s television show, Fast N’ Loud, Rawlings is the owner of Gas Monkey Garage.

Josh Kaufman: The winner of the sixth season of The Voice, Indianapolis-based singer/songwriter, Josh Kaufman, burst onto the national stage. Kaufman’s kept busy since his win, sitting in with The Roots on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, headlining the Indy Jazz Fest, and making his Broadway debut in the Tony Award-winning Pippin (for which he played the lead and title role).

John Tibbs: Award-winning Christian recording artist John Tibbs’ most recent album, Dead Man Walking, has taken over the radio. Coming off the heels of a nationwide tour with Newsboys in 2015 and Matt Maher in 2016, Tibbs will perform his hit song, “Dead Man Walking” at IndyCar Ministry’s Public Chapel service race morning at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

 Lieutenant General Joseph Anderson: Lieutenant General Joseph Anderson serves as the Deputy Chief of Staff, Headquarters, Department of the Army. With more than 34 years of service, Lieutenant General Anderson has commanded units from platoon to corps.

Major General Courtney P. Carr: As Adjutant General of Indiana, Major General Courtney P. Carr’s primary focus is leading the Indiana Army and Air National Guard, the Indiana Guard Reserve and State employees all totaling over 15,800 personnel to meet state and federal missions.

Governor Mike Pence: Governor Mike Pence is a lifelong Hoosier, currently serving as the 50th Governor of the State of Indiana. Prior to being elected governor, Pence represented Indiana’s Sixth Congressional District in Congress.

Mayor Joe Hogsett: Mayor Hogsett is the 49th mayor of Indianapolis and is a lifelong Hoosier with deep roots in the city. Before serving the City as Mayor, he served as a federal prosecutor.

Bob Jenkins: A native Hoosier, Bob Jenkins has been broadcasting the Greatest Spectacle in Racing for more than 35 years. Bob served in the iconic role of the “Voice of the 500” before making the leap to television as an announcer for the Indy 500’s national broadcast.

Florence Henderson: An actress and singer best known for playing the role of Carol Brady in the television program The Brady Bunch, Henderson’s become a beloved figure on race weekend. Since the mid-1990s, Henderson has performed the song “God Bless America” at the Indianapolis 500 accompanied by the Purdue University “All-American” Marching Band.

Mario Andretti: Mario Andretti is the 1969 Indianapolis 500 Champion. He is one of only two drivers to win races in Formula One, IndyCar, World Sportscar Championship and NASCAR. Mario won the Indy Car National Championship four times and was named the Associated Press Driver of the Century in 2000.

Johnny Rutherford: Johnny Rutherford, dubbed ‘Lone Star JR’ is one of only nine men to have won the Indianapolis 500 three times or more. Rutherford’s Indy 500 victories came in 1974, ’76 and ’80.

Rick Mears: Famed IndyCar driver, Rick Mears is one of three men to win the Indy 500 four times (1979, 1984, 1988, 1991), and hold the record for most pole positions in the race with six.

Most Popular

Latest News

More News