Counties declare travel advisories, watches as winter storm moves through

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – As a winter storm slams into central Indiana Friday, several counties have travel advisories in place.

Of the central nine counties, Marion, Boone, Hendricks, Hancock, Madison, Morgan and Shelby counties have all issued yellow travel advisories.

That’s the lowest level of a local travel advisory and means drivers may encounter hazardous conditions during routine travel.

Johnson County and Hamilton County upgraded to an orange travel watch. Several other counties, including Bartholomew, Owen, Brown, Lawrence, Spencer, Monroe, Marshall, Vanderburgh, Orange, Daviess and Knox, St. Joseph and Tippecanoe, are under orange travel watches.

That means conditions are a threat to the public. Only essential travel—such as to and from work or an emergency situation—is recommended.

You can find updates at the Indiana Department of Homeland Security website.