George Rogers Clark quarter joins U.S. Mint’s ‘America the Beautiful’ collection

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

George Rogers Clark Quarter (Photo from U.S. Mint)

VINCENNES, Ind. – The U.S. Mint released a new quarter featuring Revolutionary War figure George Rogers Clark.

The quarter was officially launched Tuesday during a ceremony in Vincennes. The coin went into circulation on Monday.

Clark and his soldiers captured a British-held fort in the southwestern Indiana city in 1779. The “tails” side of the coin depicts Clark, rifle in hand, leading troops to Fort Sackville along the Wabash River. The “heads” side features the standard profile of George Washington.

It’s the 40th new coin of 56 “America the Beautiful Quarters” from the U.S. Mint. The special coins commemorate national parks and historic sites around the U.S.

The George Rogers Clark version is the fifth and final coin released in the series for 2017. Other sites honored this year include Effigy Mounds National Monument (Iowa), the Frederick Douglass National Historic Site (Washington, D.C.), the Ozark National Scenic Riverways (Missouri) and the Ellis Island National Monument/Statue of Liberty Site (New York).

Here’s the description of the coin from the U.S. Mint:

2017 America the Beautiful Quarters Program – George Rogers Clark National Historical Park Rolls and Bags are now available.

The George Rogers Clark National Historical Park quarter is the fifth in 2017 and the 40th overall in the America the Beautiful Quarters Program. The George Rogers Clark National Historical Park contains the George Rogers Clark Memorial, which commemorates the achievements of Lieutenant Colonel George Clark and his frontiersmen during the American Revolution.

The reverse (tails) design depicts George Rogers Clark leading his men through the flooded plains approaching Fort Sackville. Inscriptions are “GEORGE ROGERS CLARK,” “INDIANA,” “2017,” and “E PLURIBUS UNUM.”