Pagenaud wins Long Beach for 1st victory driving for Penske

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LONG BEACH, CA - APRIL 17: Simon Pagenaud is the winner of the 42nd Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach on April 17, 2016 in Long Beach, California. (Photo by Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images)

LONG BEACH, Calif. (AP) — Simon Pagenaud earned his first victory for Team Penske by holding off Scott Dixon to win the caution-free Grand Prix of Long Beach.

Pagenaud failed to win a race last season, his first driving for Roger Penske. But he entered Sunday’s race as the IndyCar points leader and inching closer to his first Penske victory.

It was a controversial win, though, as Dixon and his Chip Ganassi Racing team believed Pagenaud should have been penalized for crossing a blend line as he returned to the track following a pit stop. The Dixon camp interpreted the rule as a clear violation, but IndyCar only gave Pagenaud a warning.

Dixon and team manager Mike Hull both said IndyCar had claimed there would be no more warnings given out this season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.