Ex-Colts Harrison, Dungy, James among 15 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Marvin Harrison, Tony Dungy, Edgerrin James

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (Jan. 7, 2016) – Marvin Harrison and Tony Dungy will make a third bid to gain entry into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and they’re taking another former Indianapolis Colts teammate along with them.

Harrison, Dungy and Edgerrin James made the cut to the 15 modern-day finalists for the Class of 2016. The finalists were announced Thursday night on NFL Network’s “Gold Jacket Finalist Show.’’

The Class of 2016 will be determined and announced Feb. 6 in San Francisco, the day before Super Bowl 50.

The final 15: Harrison, Dungy, James, placekicker Morten Andersen, safeties John Lynch and Steve Atwater, coach Don Coryell, running back Terrell Davis, guard Alan Faneca, quarterbacks Brett Favre and Kurt Warner, linebacker/defensive end Kevin Greene, offensive tackles Orlando Pace and Joe Jacoby and wide receiver Terrell Owens.

Favre, Owens and Faneca are first-year eligible nominees.

Harrison and Dungy are in their third year of eligibility. Each made the final 15 the last two years with Harrison advancing to the final 10 both years. Dungy made the final 10 last year.

James, in his second year of eligibility, survived the cut to 15 for the first time.

Harrison, Dungy and James are among the most decorated individuals in Colts’ history.

Harrison is the Colts’ all-time leader in virtually every receiving category. His 1,102 receptions rank No. 3 in NFL history while his 14,580 yards rank No. 7 and his 128 receiving touchdowns are No. 5. His 143 receptions in 2002 remain an NFL single-season record. He’s a member of the NFL’s All-Decade team of the 2000s.

James is the Colts’ career rushing leader with 2,188 attempts and 9,226 yards in seven seasons. He went on to play with the Arizona Cardinals and Seattle Seahawks, and his 12,246 rushing yards rank No. 11 in league history while his 15,610 yards from scrimmage rank No. 13.

Of the 10 running backs ahead of James on the career list, nine already have been inducted into the Hall of Fame. He won the league rushing title in each of his first two seasons, rushed for at least 1,500 yards four times and, like Harrison, was voted to the All-Decade team of the 2000s.

Dungy is the winningest coach in Colts history with a 92-33 record. He took the Colts to the playoffs in each of his seven years as head coach, capped by a 29-17 win over the Chicago Bears in Super Bowl XL after the 2006 season. Dungy became the first black head coach to win a Super Bowl.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.