Scott Dixon wins 2015 Indy 500 pole

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SPEEDWAY, Ind. (May 17, 2015) – After two unusual days of postponed and delayed qualifications we finally know who our 2015 Indy 500 pole winner is: Scott Dixon.

Dixon’s four lap average qualifying speed was 226.760 mph.

Joining Dixon on the front row is Verizon IndyCar Series defending champion Will Power (226.350) and Simon Pagenaud (226.145), both in Team Penske Chevrolets.

Dixon became the 19th driver to win multiple Indianapolis 500 poles. He won the race from the pole in 2008 and will look to do so again on May 24.

Two-time defending Indy 500 pole winner Ed Carpenter had a rough start Sunday; he crashed during a pre-qualifying morning practice 15 minutes after the tract opened. Carpenter’s crash marked the third Chevy crash during practice this week due to aero kits.

After the accident, the track was closed and IndyCar officials later announced that qualifications would be delayed.

IndyCar’s Mark Miles held a press conference around noon announcing changes to the schedule and qualification rules in order to ensure the safety of drivers and fans.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.