Indiana among 34 states to receive DOJ money for police body camera programs

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

File photo of a police body camera.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind.– Indiana will receive part of a $20 million pot awarded by the Department of Justice to establish and enhance body-worn camera programs in police departments across the United States.

More than 100 state, city, tribal and municipal law enforcement agencies are included.

The DOJ says the money will help law enforcement organizations implement body-worn camera policies, practices and evaluation methods to make a positive impact on the quality of policing in individual communities.

The Office of Justice Programs’ Bureau of Justice Assistance’s (BJA) awarded more than $16 million to state, local and tribal law enforcement agencies, as well as a $3 million supplemental award to continue support for body-worn camera training and technical assistance.

An additional $474,000 was awarded earlier this year under the 2016 Small Agency Body-Worn Camera Policy and Implementation Program, according to the DOJ.

“America’s law enforcement officers need the best tools available to safeguard their communities and build strong relationships with the citizens they are sworn to protect,” said Attorney General Lynch. “When backed by sound policies and procedures, body-worn camera use has the potential to heighten transparency, reduce complaints, and improve evidence collection, leading to safer neighborhoods and greater respect for the law.”

BJA says initial research has shown that law enforcement use of body-worn camera programs improve law enforcement’s interaction with the public.

The awardees include law enforcement agencies located in the following 34 states and Puerto Rico: Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, California, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Tribal awardees include: Pokagon Band of Potawatomi Indians, the Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians and the Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s